skip navigation

Counting down summer

By Breakdown Staff, 07/17/12, 8:01PM CDT


Thirty-two of the top volleyball teams in Minnesota to square off on Aug. 4

With two of our preseason No. 1 teams (Lakeville North in Class AAA and Bethlehem Academy in Class A) and two defending state champions (Eden Prairie in Class AAA and BA in Class A) -- along with 13 of the top 15 Class AAA teams, six of the top nine Class AA teams and seven of the top eight Class A teams -- the 3rd annual Minnesota Elite Preseason Tournament should be a terrific test of the state's best to kick off the beginning of the fall season.  All those powerhouse programs are among 32 of the best high school volleyball teams going head-to-head Saturday, Aug. 4 at Midwest Volleyball Warehouse (14050 Judicial Road, Burnsville, MN).

Breakdown Sports USA, in conjunction with Midwest Volleyball Warehouse present this elite – and unique – tournament for the third year in a row.  Last August, LeSueur-Henderson claimed the tournament title behind the big swing of Jess Thelemann. In our first season, Lakeville North won the crown and later the state championship.

The first round of play will be in pool format with eight pools of four (4) teams, running from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m., followed by playoffs for the top three (3) teams in each pool from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m. All pool play matches will be best-of-3, with the first two games to 25 points (no cap) and the third to 15 points (no cap) if needed.

Click here for more information on the tournament.  Schedules and pool assignments will be announced approximately one week prior to the tourney.

Schedules and real-time results will be available at the tournament on the Midwest Volleyball Warehouse website.

2012 Summer Elite teams

School Rank
Lakeville North No. 1AAA
Eden Prairie No. 2AAA
Waconia No. 4AAA
Shakopee No. 5AAA
Blaine No. 6AAA
Wayzata No. 7AAA
Chaska No. 8AAA
Delano No. 9AAA
Chanhassen No. 10AAA
Minnetonka No. 11AAA
Hopkins No. 13AAA
Andover No. 14AAA
Bemidji No. 15AAA
St. Michael-Albertville
Lakeville South
Stewartville No. 2AA
LeSueur-Henderson No. 3AA
Caledonia No. 4AA
Belle Plaine No. 6AA
Jackson Co Central No. 7AA
Kasson-Mantorville No. 9AA
Bethlehem Academy No. 1A
Wabasha-Kellogg No. 2A
Nevis No. 3A
Mayer Lutheran No. 5A
Southwest Christian No. 6A
Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa No. 7A
Mabel-Canton No. 8A