skip navigation

Softball: best of the best

By Tim Kolehmainen, Breakdown Sports Media, 10/21/19, 11:00PM CDT


Armbruster named 2019 Breakdown softball player of the year

The Breakdown is pleased to announce its 2019 Minnesota high school softball players and coaches of the year. With three career perfect games and six no-hitters on her resume (along with a career ERA of 1.31 with 909 strikeouts), Faribault's McKayla Armbruster was honored as the overall Breakdown player of the year. The full list of honorees is below:


  • POY — McKayla Armbruster, Faribault
  • COY — Ryan Pietsch, Northfield

Class AAAA

  • POY — Ava Dueck, Maple Grove
  • COY — Sean Hall, Forest Lake

Class AAA

  • POY — McKayla Armbruster, Faribault
  • COY — Ryan Pietsch, Northfield

Class AA

  • POY — Taylor Brunn, Concordia Academy
  • COY — Michelle Macalena, Annandale

Class A

  • POY — Josie Pautzke, New Ulm Cathedral
  • COY — Andrew Fleischman, Edgerton/SWC

Congratulations to our postseason players and coaches of the year for the 2019 Minnesota high school softball season!

Since 2001, the Breakdown has covered the high school sports scene in Minnesota, naming both a preseason and postseason player of the year in each sport covered for each year (since 2001 for girls' and boys' basketball, since 2008 for boys' hockey and girls' volleyball, since 2014 for boys' baseball, and since 2018 for girls' softball and girls' hockey).

We've complied that full list of players through the years, which is peppered with recognizable names from Minnesota's high school sports history. The full list may be found at:

Connect with the Breakdown on social media

Click on the links below to visit our social media sites, from Twitter to Facebook to YouTube to Instagram and more.