skip navigation

Baseball: best of the best

By Tim Kolehmainen, Breakdown Sports Media, 10/21/19, 10:45PM CDT


Gilbert named 2019 Breakdown baseball player of the year

The Breakdown is pleased to announce its 2019 Minnesota high school baseball players and coaches of the year. After completing his career with one of the most dominant pitching seasons in state history, Stillwater Area's Drew Gilbert was honored as the overall Breakdown player of the year. The full list of honorees is below:


  • POY — Drew Gilbert, Stillwater Area
  • COY — Brian Sprout, East Ridge

Class AAAA

  • POY — Drew Gilbert, Stillwater Area
  • COY — Brian Sprout, East Ridge

Class AAA

  • POY — Ethan Bosacker, Monticello
  • COY — Joe Kroc, Austin

Class AA

  • POY — Ben Pedersen, Duluth Marshall
  • COY — Joe Wicklund, Duluth Marshall

Class A

  • POY — Brenden Bethke, Sacred Heart
  • COY — Brian Kingery, BOLD

Congratulations to our postseason players and coaches of the year for the 2019 Minnesota high school baseball season!

Since 2001, the Breakdown has covered the high school sports scene in Minnesota, naming both a preseason and postseason player of the year in each sport covered for each year (since 2001 for girls' and boys' basketball, since 2008 for boys' hockey and girls' volleyball, since 2014 for boys' baseball, and since 2018 for girls' softball and girls' hockey).

We've complied that full list of players through the years, which is peppered with recognizable names from Minnesota's high school sports history. The full list may be found at:

Connect with the Breakdown on social media

Click on the links below to visit our social media sites, from Twitter to Facebook to YouTube to Instagram and more.