skip navigation

Boys' basketball: Best of the best

By Tim Kolehmainen, Breakdown Sports Media, 04/17/19, 1:00PM CDT


Hurt named 2018-19 Breakdown boys' hoops player of the year

The Breakdown is pleased to announce its 2018-19 Minnesota high school boys' basketball players and coaches of the year. After becoming the state's all-time leading scorer at the big school level and earning the Mr. Basketball award, Rochester John Marshall's Matthew Hurt was honored as the overall Breakdown player of the year. The full list of honorees is below:


  • POY — Matthew Hurt, Rochester JM
  • COY — Randy Misegades, Henning

Class AAAA

  • POY — Matthew Hurt, Rochester JM
  • COY — Ken Novak, Jr., Hopkins

Class AAA

  • POY — Tyrell Terry, DeLaSalle
  • COY — Kris Fadness, Austin

Class AA

  • POY — Jalen Suggs, Minnehaha Academy
  • COY — Sean Keating, St. Peter

Class A

  • POY — Isaac Fink, Springfield
  • COY — Randy Misegades, Henning

Congratulations to our postseason players and coaches of the year for the Minnesota high school boys' basketball season!

Since 2001, the Breakdown has covered the high school sports scene in Minnesota, naming both a preseason and postseason player of the year in each sport covered for each year (since 2001 for girls' and boys' basketball, since 2008 for boys' hockey and girls' volleyball, since 2014 for boys' baseball, and since 2018 for girls' softball and  girls' hockey).

We've complied that full list of players through the years, which is peppered with recognizable names from Minnesota's high school sports history. The full list may be found at:

Connect with the Breakdown on social media

Click on the links below to visit our social media sites, from Twitter to Facebook to YouTube to Instagram and more.